No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Energy Bites

This year 2 of my kids (and myself) decided that they wanted to take a *bento* type of lunches to school this year.  One of them is entering 2nd grade and another is a Freshman in High School.  Plus, I decided I wanted to make all lunches  healthier this year.

I have 5 lunches I have to prepair every weekday!  That is a lot of lunches.  I am looking for new, healthy and FUN (who says food can’t be fun) ideas to put in lunches.  So if you have any suggestions please leave a comment.  I love to hear from all of you!

These little gems whip up SUPER quick….and funny enough my WHOLE family loved them.  INCLUDING my very picky 15-year-old son.

INGREDIENTS:

2 cups Old-Fashioned Oats (dry)
1 1/3 cup sweetened coconut flakes
1 cup Peanut Butter
1 cup mini-semi sweet chocolate chips
2/3 cup of honey (I use local honey)
2 tsp. vanilla

DIRECTIONS:

1.  Through everything into a bowl and stir until completely combine.

2. Refrigerate  “dough” for about 30 minutes.

3.  Roll into balls (about 1 inch in size).  I used a cookie scoop to make it go a little faster and to get more uniform *balls*. Store in an air tight container for about 7 days in fridge.

Notes:

It is not really necessary to refrigerate the dough.  It does make it a little easier to form the balls though if the dough is chilled.

You can add so much to this recipe.  Dried fruits, nuts, flaxseed.  Mini-M& M’s would be fun as well.

The amount of bites you get depend on how big you make them.   I was able to get 50 bites made with my cookie scoop.

~Enjoy!~

