*Spooky* Halloween Bundt Cake

Tasty, Moist, & Fun

Ingredients:

1 box white cake mix (Plus ingredients called for on package)
1 box Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix (Plus ingredients called for on package)
1 (16 oz) can Fluffy White Whipped Frosting by Duncan Hines
Black food coloring ( I used McCormick Black Liquid Food Coloring)
Purple food coloring ( I used Wilton Violet Gel Coloring)
Orange food coloring (I used AmeriColor #113 Orange Gel Food Coloring-Found at Hobby Lobby)


What I did:

Heat oven to 325 degrees.  I greased and FLOURED my bundt pan.  The ‘extra’ ingredients I need to make the cake batters  were 5 eggs, water, 1/3 cup of oil and 1/2 cup of oil. What ‘extra’ ingredients you may need will vary according to which store bought cake mix you purchase.

This recipe can get kind of confusing and you have to be careful not to over fill the pan because you will run into problems.

To keep my cake batters straight and my thought process together.  I made the cakes separately.  I started with the Chocolate cake mix.  Made it according to package directions and then added black food coloring.

I then took half of that batter (which was around 2  cups and poured it into the bundt pan.  I set the rest aside.

I then made the white cake mix.  I made it in a large bowl that had measurements on the side.  When completely mixed together.  It made just over 4 cups.  I divided the batter equally into two bowls.  I then colored them with my food coloring gels.  And poured the purple into the pan and then the orange.

I then took half what was left of the chocolate batter and drizzled it on top of the orange.  I really don’t think I used even half of the batter.

I had a lot of batter left over instead of tossing it or discarding it…(Who can afford to toss food  of any kind in this kind of economy??) I made cupcakes with the remainder of the batter.  They turned out so adorable.

I placed my bundt pan on top of a cookie sheet to bake because I was afraid of spillage.  Because the cake can rise….and rise it did.  But it was okay….and so was my oven.

Bake at 325 for 55 minutes to one hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  

I let my cake cool for 10 minutes in the pan.  Then I turned it over onto a plate.  I am so glad I floured and greased my pan prior.  Even though my pan is non-stick, without the flour added the cake would have STUCK to the pan.

I then let it cool completely for about 45 minutes to an hour. 

Then I divided the frosting into 3rds. Again, I colored them one at a time. And placed each one in the microwave for about 10 to 15 seconds. Then I drizzeled each color over the cake.   

I am glad I purchased the bigger can of frosting.  Since I had enough batter to make cupcakes, I also had enough frosting to frost them.  I was able to take a picture of the only cupcake left.  My kids got to the others before I could get a ‘group’ shot of them.  🙂

I didn’t set my cake aside to let it ‘dry’ it was fine to cut into once I was done icing.  I did place it in a cake holder with a lid to store what was left.

Total cost for me to make this cake  & cupcakes (I did have the black food coloring on hand already) was $9.34 cents. Now I will have the gels to use on more baking projects.  Which I love my food coloring gels.

My husband who generally does not like cake said the cake was awesome and very moist.  However, he probably liked it due to it has purple in it.  One of his favorite colors.  My kids raved about it.  It will be made again and again.

~Enjoy!~

This recipe is linked to the following:

