Awesomely delicious chewy caramels to wrap or use in candy making.  My whole family loves this candy treat.  It would be great for Caramel apples!

Kitchen tools needed:

  • Heavy Sauce pan ( I use a 6 Quart pot.  However a smaller pot macty  be used)
  • Candy Thermometer 
  • Wooden spoon 
  • Parchment paper               

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

 cc2

 

  • 1 Cup Butter (or Margarine) I prefer butter.
  • 1 pound light brown sugar (measures out to 2 and a half cups packed)
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk ( 14 ounce can)
  • 1 cup light corn syrup
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 1/5 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Line a 9 X 13 Inch baking dish with parchment paper. Set aside.
  • Over medium heat in a heavy bottomed saucepan combine all ingredients.  EXCEPT THE VANILLA…DO NOT PUT THE VANILLA IN…yet.

cc11

 

  • Bring to a ROLLING boil. Constantly stirring.  You can’t walk away from this.

cc21

 

  • This is where your candy thermometer  comes in handy.   Heat between 234º and 240º.  The higher the temp the harder the candy will be once cooled.  The lower the temp the easier it is to cut.  I heat mine to 235º.
  • Or if you don’t have a candy thermometer-until a small amount of syrup dropped into cold water forms a soft ball that flattens when removed from water and placed on a flat surface. 
  • When desired temperature has been reached.  Cook for 2 minutes at that temperature.
  • Remove from heat and stir in Vanilla.
  • Poor into your prepared baking dish.

cc3

 

  • Allow to cool completely at room temperature. Cooling times vary.  I check on mine at around 30 or 45 minutes.  Usually still isn’t hardened at that time.  However, it is hardened enough for me to lift the parchment paper out and set it on the counter to completely cool.
  • I let mine completely cool for 2 to 3 hours.  Then I get a big chefs knife.  Take Pam spray and spray my knife and then I cut length wise strips.  I then cut individual pieces. 
  • Wrap in wax paper or cellophane.

cc4

 

~Enjoy~

And please let me know if you try this delicious recipe and what you think of it.

